Welcome to Town of Cooperstown

Manitowoc County, Wisconsin

The Town of Cooperstown lies within the northern portion of Manitowoc County and is one of a few towns within the state that has borders with two counties - Brown and Kewaunee.

The Town encompasses an area of 36 square miles or 23,040 acres and has two rivers crossing its countryside.

The Town has two historically developed “Crossroad Communities” and a village (Maribel) within its boundaries.



Manitowoc County has instituted a new rapid emergency notification service called CodeRED®. The new system will distribute emergency messages via telephone to targeted areas or the entire County at a rate of 1,000 calls per minute.


Click Here for more information.



Effective January 1, 2014 curbside garbage/recycling collection will NO LONGER be provided to residents of the Town of Cooperstown.  It will be the homeowner’s/resident’s responsibility to transport their garbage and recycling items to the Town Transfer Station located at 12309 County Road  Z, Maribel.

The transfer site hours of operation will be as follows:

Saturday Hours Wednesday Hours
Year Round  1st Wednesday in April – last Wednesday in October
8:00 am – 3:00 pm 3:00 pm – 7:00 pm